Teacher Grants

The Foundation provides opportunities for Bedford School District teachers to apply for grants valued up to $500 for classroom projects that are not funded by the Board of Education. Five to ten grants are awarded annually.

Applications are made available in October through the office of the Executive Director. A committee of Foundation members and Administrative personnel make the final selections.


Paul Hilty Teacher Grants




Paul frequently took on leadership positions such as the Board of Trustees, Staff Parish Relations chairman and scholarship chair. Paul served as the chairperson for the Foundation’s Teacher Grants committee. Paul graduated from Findlay High School and earned his Bachelor of Science Degree from Ohio University. He later added a Masters of Education in Administration from Kent State University.

“Paul never met anyone he didn’t like.

He Truly Enjoyed Life, and Children were his Passion.”

He was married to his loving wife, Merry Anne, for 42 happy years. Their two children, Tanya and David are both Bedford High School graduates. Mr. Hilty had numerous friends and acquaintances. He loved traveling, taking cruises, reading, cooking, playing bridge and poker, golfing and rooting for the Bearcats, Browns, Buckeyes, Cavs and Indians. Paul was awarded the prestigious Woodrow Shipley Award in 1999. The Foundation renamed the Teacher Grants as the Paul Hilty Memorial Teacher Grants in his memory.

2018 Paul Hilty Teacher Grants

Rachel Adelstein – Parent/Child Reading – $500.00
Katie Campbell – Extra, Extra! Read all About it – $370.00
Alison Duiker – Spreading the Bearcat Spirit – $475.92
Jennifer Gates – Aquarium Food Chains – $255.80
Michelle Hinegardner – Connecting Curriculum to the Community – $209.00
Bret Johnson – Life Lesson Learning– $494.75
Shenee King – Reluctant Readers Periodical Review – $354.90
Ann Laslo – Dyna Math – $279.60
Shonda Martin – The Reading Cafe – $485.87
Jana Petite – Rad Rithmetic Recess – $500.00
Jennifer Shauf – Drummin Our Way to Success – $315.00
Shawn Smith – Hooting it up About Owl Pellets!– $368.25
Joe Sovacool – BrainPop for a Bearcat – $425.00
Amanda St. Clair – Extra! Extra! Read All About It! – $370.00
Mary Ann Strenk – $500.00



2017 Paul Hilty Teacher Grants

Marla Henderson “Pre ACT Test for Sophomores”

Angie Avalon “Math Club for Third Graders”

Darren Pocek “Flight Pc Hern Manipulation and Coding with a Parrot Drone”

Alison Duiker ” Video Production: Working Smarter not Harder”

Jennifer Pozz “Custom Apparel T-Shirt Lab”

Carrie Brastine “Math in the Real World”

Kathleen Kozenko “Heskett Chocolate Night”

Rebecca Genao “Still Life Motorcycles”

Nicki Topolski “Learning to Code w/Dot:Dash Interactive Robots”

Julianne T. Walker “Carylwood Math Club”

Jennifer Breckel “The Iditarod Trail Race”

Carrie Brastine “Educators Rising State Conference”

Mary Goebel “Cultural Explorations of Bedford and Cleveland”

Crystal Brooks “Heskett Mobile Store and Bearcat Bucks”

2016 Paul Hilty Teacher Grants

Carrie Brastine “Educators Rising State Conference”

Jennifer Breckel “Bringing History & Stars”

Crystal Brooks & Brandon Milne “4th Annual Book Talk Night”

Alison Duiker “Green Screening for Students”

Heather Gansler “E.E.E. Listening to Literature”

Mary Goebel “ESC – Goodtime III River Cruise”

Cindy Krofta “Math Board Games Project”

Kim Nagy “Trilogy Triathion”

Mary Ober “Pre-assessing Students for Success in Foreign Language”

Kim Rado “Women in Science Rule”

Sarah Rybak “Veggie U”

Shawn Smith “Owl Pellet”

Amanda St. Clair “Minecraft Education”

Victor Torres “Novelty Store”


Rachel Adlestein “Creating Writers”
Treleen Canganeilli “Going Bearcat Green at Heskett”
Jeanie Cunnigham “Cross-Curriculum Education in Physical Education PreK-3”
Trish Duncan “Color My World”
Anna Farmer “Hey, Where is Bangladesh?”
Blake Frei “MobyMax Tablets”
Sarah Johncock “Mirror, Mirror, on the Wall”
Bret Johnson “Second Grade ‘Try-athalon”
Jennifer Pozz “Photo Booth”
Joe Sovacool “Camp Bearcat”
Debby Rinella and Melanie Krofta “A.R.G.I.F.T.S.”
Audrey Richardson-Hill “Greenhouse Gardening in the Classroom”


Darren Pocek

Tom Jansen

Kerry Boscarello

Bridget Graham

Scott Kronstain

Jennifer Shauf

Anna Farmer

Karen Brastoff

Rosana Camargo

Jennifer Breckel

Brandon Milne


Tiffany Huerster

Stephanie Carroll

Sara Caesar-Williams

Patricia Dudash

Nicki Topolski

Cheryl Goldstein

Sarah Popovich

Nora Beach


Amanda St. Clair

Melanie Horley

Bret Johnson

Darnise Stevens

Angie Avalon

Nora Beach

Barbara Davilla

Juliana Nahra

Monteager Wyant

Yvonda McDowell

Amy Hujarski

Lynn Nowak

Lauren Gigliotti

Rachel Adelstein

Patricia Dudash

Kelly Spivery

Ronald MacCannon

Kim Strelekar

Jason Richardson

Maurice Morman

Rachel Chatal