Support The Bedford City Schools Foundation with Amazon Smile

AmazonSmile is a simple and automatic way for you to support your favorite charitable organization every time you shop, at no cost to you. When you shop at, you’ll find the exact same low prices, vast selection and convenient shopping experience as, with the added bonus that Amazon will donate a portion of the purchase price to your favorite charitable organization.


2020 Holly Ball

Thank you for being a part of the Bedford City Schools Foundation Community!

While it was a difficult decision, our Board of Trustees canceled the Holly Ball Dinner/Dance scheduled for December 4th, 2020 because we care about your safety and well-being.

Although we won’t be gathering in person, the Foundation is offering another way you can support our goal of raising funds for scholarships for graduating seniors. Join in the fun from wherever you are with an on-line Holly Ball Silent Auction running a full week starting

November 29th.

We believe with your help, we can lessen the impact of the virus on our mission of supporting our children and the District.

Thank you for your past support and hope for your continued support during this challenging time for our organization and our community as a whole.

Follow us on Facebook (Bedford City Schools Foundation)

or Twitter @BedfordCSFound for our kick-off!




The Bedford City Schools Foundation invests in a learning environment empowering students and teachers to be successful in academic endeavors.  The Foundation is a 501(c)3 that hosts fundraisers to support scholarships and mini grants that typically fall outside of the District’s budget.  The governing board’s membership includes up to twenty-five volunteer trustees consisting of parents, community members, business owners and educators both current and retired.

Your participation in the fundraising efforts along with cash donations and sponsorships, makes a difference in opportunities for both students and our educators.


The mission of the Foundation is to enhance the educational experience by providing resources to promote excellence in teaching and learning.

We believe:

  • Every child deserves a positive and supportive learning environment.
  • Excellent teachers kindle learning.
  • A quality education is key to a vibrant community.



In 1991, a Strategic Plan was developed in the Bedford City School District. Strategy #10 called for the creation educational Foundation to support the schools.

Superintendent Dr. George Bowdouris appointed Bud McNellie as chairperson of the committee to implement the strategy. Having researched other Foundations, he was excited to take on the challenge. The committee, now referred tp as Founding Members, included Ed Blount, Paul Kostansek, Bud McNellie, Sherry Pidala, and Hilary Taylor.

A non-profit status as a 501(c)3 was approved in 1992.

Shortly thereafter, the Zonta Club of Bedford, under the leadership of Ruth Siegel, dissolved the organization and donated  $5,000 to the Foundation. (Ruth Siegel was Secondary Curriculum Supervisor in the Bedford Schools.)


In May of 1992, the Foundation awarded its first four-year scholarship and over the years, the awards have grown. By 2019, there were sixty-two (62) Foundation scholarships each $1,000 for four years; sixteen (16) ‘Chris Valley’ Scholarships – $500/year; five (5) one year Art Scholarships – $500 one time award; and three (3) ‘Paul G. Ward’ Scholarships – $500/year. Teacher grants have been awarded since 1997 totaling approximately $6,000 annually. Other expenditures included support for educational programs, speakers, student field trips and special events.


Membership currently consists of twenty-three (23) Trustees; however, many other individuals have served over the years. The Foundation since its inception has worked with four superintendents – Dr. Bowdouris, Martha Motsco Esq., Sherm Micsak and Dr. Andrea Celico.


We encourage you to be part of our history!